Holiday Lights 2009

All is calm, all is bright.This past week, the String Ensembles and Concert Bands from three of my schools combined for a performance at a Holiday Lights display at a local park.

I teach essentially the same music at each school, so it was easy to merge the groups together without any additional rehearsal.

This was our second annual performance at this event, and I plan to continue the tradition. It’s a fun way to get all my best music students together in one place in a very festive, casual setting.

We performed under a tent-like canvas covering with a small opening right above the center of the stage. Since it had been raining that day, there was a pretty constant drip below that spot. So I set up my conductor’s podium right in front of that spot and the first row of music students right behind it. We watched drips of water come down between me and the flute and violin players throughout the performance. 🙂

Here’s what my groups performed:

String Ensemble:
– Rockin’ Winterland, composed by a recently-retired teacher from my district
– Banana Boat Song
– Jingle Bells, from the Essential Elements Christmas Favorites book
– Symphony Theme, a nice arrangement of Beethoven’s Ninth/Ode to Joy

Concert Band:
– Holiday Sampler, from the Accent on Achievement method book
– First Rockin’ Christmas, arr. by John O’Reilly
– Big Rock Candy Mountain, from the Standard of Excellence First Performance collection
– Winter Wonderland, arr. by Michael Story. This was my students’ favorite.

Leave a Reply

