New School Year’s Resolutions

It’s the beginning of a new school year, which means it’s a great time to review goals and “new school year’s resolutions.”

GoalI recently needed to provide my professional bio to an organization. On reviewing the last version, I became a little disappointed in myself. Though I claim to be a writer and arranger, I haven’t been as productive as I would like.

It’s been said that one way to make sure you reach your goals is to tell someone about them and be accountable. So that’s what I’m attempting to do here. Here are my writing goals for this school year:

  • Compose two original works for young orchestra
  • Compose three original works for young band
  • Compose or arrange three easy jazz saxophone duets

I’ll be sure to write about my progress with these goals along the way.

If you’ve got goals for yourself you’d like to share, feel free to share them here.

2 thoughts on “New School Year’s Resolutions

  1. Excellent goals. I especially like that you quantified each item; the most common sabateur of goalsetting is imprecise or undetailed vision of what we want the finished product to be. The same is true of our students: if we want their work to raise in quality, we often have to provide them with more specific instructions.

  2. Steve’s Goal #4 – Share arrangements for band with brother-in-law.

    My goal is to write out a variation on those daily warm-ups and concert warm-ups that you shared with me last year.

Leave a Reply

