End of the Year Recording Project

After reading several great blogs addressing the subject of studio recitals, I’ve started feeling really guilty about not hosting one for my private students. Because I teach at 3 different elementary schools, the idea of adding another performance to my calendar has never been too appealing. However, a number of influences have led me to the conclusion that my students deserve some sort of culminating event to celebrate all their hard work. So instead of a recital, I decided to do an end of the year recording project.

Zoom H2Part of my private lesson curriculum includes duets. So making a recording of the pieces we’ve practiced during the course of the year was a logical move. I’ve been using a Zoom H2 recording unit. Then I’ve taken the digital music files home, edited them, sweetened them, and am putting them on CD.

While a studio recital may be a better route to go overall, I am pleased with how this project is turning out. Hopefully the CD will be a learning tool for my students and also a valuable keepsake for the students and their parents.

5 thoughts on “End of the Year Recording Project

  1. Steve-

    What a great idea! I own a Zoom H2 as well, and use it to record myself quite often (in practice, rehearsal, and performance). It’s a really nifty tool, isn’t it?

    Good luck with your recording projects–we would love to hear some of your students, if that’s possible!

    -Andy

  2. I had a budget of $400 and the sales man talked me down to the Zoom H2. As you know, I love it.

    I also think that you are doing a good job of marketing yourself to your students by recording them. Parents can hear what they are paying for.

  3. Thanks for the responses.

    Rebecca: I’m realizing the value of having something tanglible for students to keep, whether it’s a recording, a trophy, a certificate, a photo, or whatever. More on this in a future post.

    Andy: I *might* consider posting a recording or two. However: 1. I’m not sure how to link to an audio file. I tried unsuccessfully once before. I might go the YouTube route, but that creates other issues. 2. As proud as I am of my little elementary kids, I’m not sure if I’m ready to have them adjudicated by the blogosphere! 🙂

    Jason turned me on to the Zoom H2. Thanks, dude.

    Ken: The podcast sounds like a great idea. (WAY out of the league of my situation, however!) When summer hits, I’d like to check out some of your students’ work.

Leave a Reply

