New Year’s Resolution for 2009: Live Life “IRL”

One of my resolutions for 2009 is to live life IRL (in real life).

My oldest daughter and I on a hayride singing Christmas carols. I use the word "singing" in the loosest sense of the definition. There wasn't a real singer around for miles, and I was the only musician in the group. But we had fun.I am constantly drawn to computers, my cell phone, the TV, and reading material like books and magazines. Because you’re sitting there reading this blog, maybe you can relate.

While these things have value, they sometimes keep me turned away from real people like my family and students who approach me before or after school.

So my resolution is to give more face time, eye contact, and meaningful interaction to those around me. Before I am drawn into the magnetism of my computer, I will spend time with my family. When students hang around before or after classes, I’ll spend time with them and give them the attention they’re likely seeking.

Know what I mean?

One thought on “New Year’s Resolution for 2009: Live Life “IRL”

Leave a Reply

