Career Modifications: Changing from Elementary to Junior High

The district in which I teach recently had two junior high teachers leave their positions (for all the right reasons, on very good terms). I found myself faced with the decision about whether or not to apply for one of the vacancies and make the shift from elementary to junior high. This prompted a lot of soul searching for me about my career goals and future.

A bit of personal background, briefly: when I originally decided to pursue teaching, I intended to teach at the junior high level and to lead a jazz band. Ironically, I have taught high school and elementary, marching band, concert band, strings and orchestra, but I still have yet to fulfill either of my two original intentions. Meanwhile, I have been quite happy teaching at the elementary level.

So I am curious to hear from those of you who may have purposefully made a career modification in the past, like shifting between elementary, junior high, or high school. What factors played into your decision? Are you happy with your decision?

Leave a Reply

