Yabba Dabba Fragilistic

This week I had my bands sight read an easy arrangement of Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. At one of my three schools, less than half of the students knew where the title came from. At my two other more affluent schools, there were also several students who didn’t have a clue.

On a similar note, one of my private students brought in her part to a jazz band arrangement of The Flintstones. I asked her if she had ever seen the show, and she said no. When I asked her about Fruity Pebbles cereal (Fred and Barney are on the box), she made the connection. But there was still no real familiarity with the theme song.

So much for choosing music the kids already like.

Leave a Reply

